Homemade Pizza Sauce

Standard

I never thought I would get a recipe from my little brother..ever. And to make something from scratch, that really surprised me. But, the truth is I did. My little brother tried out this recipe and my mom told me about it. We love making homemade pizza but I have always bought the sauce in the can. Making your own sauce is really not that hard and I hadn’t even thought about doing it myself. But let me tell you, it is worth it. The sauce can really make the pizza, and this sauce is so good. Even though I don’t like fennel, the fennel seed really give it a little something extra, and (I think), make the sauce so great. So, thank you Grant for the yummy find!

20130512-000455.jpgHomemade Pizza Sauce, from Taste of Home

Ingredients:

2 cans (15 ounces each) tomato sauce
1can (12 ounces) tomato paste

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon fennel seed, crushed
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

In a large saucepan or pot, combine tomato sauce and paste over medium heat. Add seasonings and mix well. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for one hour, stirring occasionally. Cool.

Yields approximately 4 cups

**You can freeze this sauce! Freeze in containers OR I like to freeze in ice cube trays, then pop out and put in a freezer bag, then you can get as much or little as you need! Can freeze for up to 12 months**

 

20130512-000505.jpg

Leave a Reply

