Happy Birthday Alex – birth story

Image

I don’t have a recipe today, or anything cooking/food related.  Bernie and I have been blessed with a wonderful baby boy, and I want to take a post to introduce him to the “world.”

On September 10 at 3:15am, just six days before his due date, Alexander Joseph entered the world.  When I woke up the day before, however, I had no idea I would be a mommy within the next 24 hours.

That Thursday, the 8th, I had regular contractions all day long.  They were trackable so I figured labor was starting.  After talking to my doctor on the phone, we decided it was best to try and labor at home as long as possible since I wanted to try to have an unmedicated birth.  The contractions were extremely mild and I was able to sleep fine through the night.  Then Friday came.  I woke up and had no contractions.  But, I also noticed through the morning and afternoon I also did not feel Alex moving very much.  This little guy had been extremely active throughout the whole pregnancy so again I called the doctor.  The triage nurse didn’t ask many questions but told me to come in within the next hour…talk about a scary ride to the hospital.

I had Bernie get my halfway packed bag, just in case – and not expecting to need it, and to the doctor’s office we went.  Alex looked great on the ultrasound and they were able to capture his heartbeat.  But after some monitoring they wanted to send me to labor and delivery to do additional monitoring to be absolutely certain everything was ok.  Well, everything was not ok.  There were a few questionable spots on the monitor so surprise, when we did leave the hospital we would be leaving with a baby boy.  Thank goodness the nurses and doctor ignored the fact that my parents had brought Bernie and I some food so I could fuel up for labor.

Last picture of the pregnant belly

So I walked my pregnant butt to my room in labor and delivery.  I wanted to have an unmedicated delivery but since our main objective was to deliver a healthy baby safely, that was not going to happen.  I got my IV set up and started pitocin.  The contractions were not bad at first.  Bernie and my mom helped me to relax and do deep breathing.  No big deal.  Well, I was not progressing so they increase the dosage.  And the contractions started coming closer, and stronger.  After the doctor checked me at 4cm and broke my water, it got even more intense.  Knock you over kind of pain.  I could no longer relax between contractions, in fact I was on the verge of hysterical between contractions making everything worse.  As soon as I said I wanted an epidural the anesthesiologist was in my room in about 30 seconds flat.  I labored as long as I could without pain medication, but I knew I could not progress anymore if I could not relax.  So after a couple of hours laboring, I finally got some relief from the epi around midnight.

The following hours were easy.  I couldn’t feel the contractions and I progressed extremely fast.  Shortly after getting the epidural I started getting the shakes, which was a surprise since I didn’t expect to be in transition so soon.  Around 2am they checked and I was at 10cm!  Mind you, I was extremely relaxed so my response to the nurse was, “shut up, are you serious?”  She was serious alright, and they turned off the pitocin and let Bernie and I  hangout for  about 30 minutes before coming back in.  Apparently Alex did not like the contractions and his heart rate kept dropping when I was contracting.  So they told me it was time to push.

Bernie is excited, it's time to push!

After a few pushes I heard the nurses ask for the doctor to be called.  They assured me everything was ok, but we waited to push again until the doctor arrived.  After just 5 or 6 pushes, Alex was suctioned out, perfect healthy little boy.

First meeting

At 3:15am, after laboring for only 6 hours, we got to meet Alex for the first time.  He was a little boy, 6 pounds 13 oz and 20 inches long.

Put me back!!!

Only mommies will understand, but the love of  a mother starts immediately…seeing Alex for the first time and holding him on my chest was the best moment of my life. .  It felt amazing to be holding this little baby in my arms that I had been carrying for 9 months.  I still, and will probably always, get teary-eyed thinking about that moment.

First family photo

Happy Birthday Alex

It is so neat to look at your baby and see so much of yourself.  It is hard to not just sit and stare at this little guy.

Love at first sight

Snuggles with Daddy

The past week and a half has been, no doubt, the hardest of my life – but absolutely worth it.  The sleepless nights are totally worth being able to snuggle with this guy.  Thank you to everyone who has supported us through the pregnancy and since Alex has been born.  Thank you to my husband and mom for being the best support ever.  Can’t wait to share more moments with Alex and eventually cooking for the two men in my life 🙂

Going home

One response »

Leave a Reply

