Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Standard

My husband loves blueberry muffins and while I have tried a few recipes – and they are good – I wouldn’t consider blueberry my favorite.  I wanted to try something new and stumbled upon this recipe – and I am glad I did.  These are by far my favorite muffin I have made and I can’t wait to bake another batch – maybe because I am pregnant, or maybe not, but these were gone way to fast!

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, from Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp. poppy seeds
1¼ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
8 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
Zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup plain Greek yogurt

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line muffin pan with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

Using a mixer, cream together the butter and sugar, medium speed, until light and fluffy.  Beat eggs in one at a time.  Mix in lemon zest and vanilla extract.  Alternating, with mixer on low speed, add in yogurt and flour mixture – in two additions.  Mix until just combined.

Divide batter equally between paper liners, filling each about 2/3 full.  Bake for about 18-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Let cool in pan for 5-10 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Yields: 12 muffins

Nutrition per muffin: 237.9 calories, 9.4g fat, 5.1g saturated fat, 51.6mg cholesterol, 194mg sodium, 33.8g carbohydrates, 0.7g fiber, 17.6g sugar, 5.2 protein

Leave a Reply

