Christmas Cookies – Part 1 of 5

Standard

I love baking.  I love Christmas.  And I really love baking Christmas cookies.  This is one time of year I have an excuse to make an obscene amount of cookies…and eat an obscene amount of cookies, and not feel bad about it.  I try to make everyone’s favorite, but also like to try at least one new recipe every year.  I will be sharing five of my cookie recipes this week as we are approaching Christmas.  I don’t usually make any substitutions and these cookies are in no way healthy – but they sure are delicious.

After 3 trips to Kroger today, I finally got all of my ingredients.  Since we are between houses right now my mom has graciously let me take over her kitchen for 2 days to bake.

I’m not quite sure how much I have spent on ingredients, and I think I will be keeping it that way 🙂

I’m going to start with Bernie’s favorite cookies.  I found this recipe online one year and decided to try it – good thing, Bernie loves these and have taken the number one spot on his list.

Chocolate Mint Cookies, from Allrecipes
Ingredients
3/4 cup butter
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
2 tablespoons water
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 (4.5 ounce) packages chocolate covered thin mints

Directions
In a saucepan over medium heat, cook the sugar, butter and water, stirring occasionally until melted. Remove from heat, stir in the chocolate chips until melted and set aside to cool for 10 minutes.

Pour the chocolate mixture into a large bowl, and beat in the eggs, one at a time. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt, stir into the chocolate mixture. **Disclaimer: I have killed 2 hand mixers making these cookies (the days before I had my Kitchen Aid mixer) – if your mixer does not have a lot of power, consider mixing the last bit of flour by hand. Cover and refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets. Roll cookie dough into walnut sized balls and place 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, be careful not to overbake. When cookies come out of the oven, press one mint wafer into the top of each cookie and let sit for 1 minute. When the mint is softened, swirl with the back of a spoon, fork or toothpick to make a pattern with the green filling of the mint wafer. For smaller cookies, break mints in half.

My parent’s cats were really not interested in what I was doing over there, but looked really cute napping under the Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

