Happy Thanksgiving!! – just a day late

Standard

As I have grown up I have been able to contribute more to our holidays and celebrations, food wise.  I love to try new recipes, and revisit favorites and holidays provide the perfect opportunity to do both!  I really enjoy preparing desserts, so I brought one of my favorites:

apple and caramel oatmeal cookies – which were a hit, I didn’t come home with any!  I also made sweet potato casserole (more on that tomorrow) a healthier pumpkin pie, a recipe my friend Devon (who has started her own business, you should check it out!) gave to me last year from Hungry Girl.

TOO GOOD TO DENY PUMPKIN PIE, from Hungry Girl

The original recipe uses a homemade crust with Fiber One.  I have not been adventurous enough to try it yet, so I just use a ready-made, graham cracker crust.

Ingredients:
One ready-made graham cracker pie crust (10-inch)
For Filling:
One 15oz can pure pumpkin
One 12oz can fat-free evaporated milk
3/4 cup of Splenda or other sugar substitute
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute
1/4 cup sugar-free pancake syrup
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all the ingredients for the filling. Mix well and pour into the pie crust.
Bake pie for about 45 min or until the center is set

Allow pie to cool and refrigerate at least 4 hours.
Cut into eight slices and top with fat-free whipped topping if you like!

Yields: 8 servings

Nutrition per serving:  232 calories, 7.8g fat, 2g saturated fat, 2.1mg cholesterol, 312.5mg sodium, 38.9g carbohydrates, 1.7g fiber, 20.55g sugar, 7g protein

With the pre-made crust you really cannot taste a difference with this healthier version.

I hope you had a blessed Thanksgiving!

Pumpkin on Foodista

One response »

Leave a Reply

