Gluten Free Birthday Cupcakes!

Standard

Hats off to every one I know who eats a gluten-free diet – it can be really confusing! People who are managing Celiac Disease, or  who have a gluten intolerance may follow a gluten-free diet.  Gluten is in SO many things: wheat, rye, and barley, etc.

I wanted to make Amanda (who follows a gluten-free diet) a cake for her birthday, and I really like cooking from scratch but gluten-free cakes are a little intimidating, so I opted for a vanilla cake mix from Pamela’s Products.  Gluten-free products taste a little different than non-gluten-free products and you have to get used to it (I am learning), but they can still be delicious.  Since gluten-free cake mixes are a little limited for flavors (you can usually choose from chocolate, yellow and vanilla cake), I wanted to do something special so I used food coloring to make rainbow cupcakes – and they turned out to be really cute!  You can do this with any vanilla cake mix.

Rainbow Cake/cupcakes

Prepare vanilla cake batter as instructed.  Divide the batter into different containers or bowls (as many colors as you want – I did red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple.  Once divided, stir in food coloring.

For cakes, pour each color separately into the pan.  For cupcakes it is a little more labor intensive.  Line the muffin pan with baking cups.  Evenly distribute each color as you choose until about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake cupcakes as directed.

Allow to cool completely then ice (I used funfetti icing), and enjoy!

Amanda (with Ella) enjoying her cupcake!

Be sure to check out Amanda’s Blog!  She is exercising her way to Germany!

5 responses »

  1. megan – these were cute & sooo yummy! thank you for being such a great friend and being sensitive to my GF diet! I love that picture of ella and me! 🙂 after reading this blog I am going to have another cupcake. also thanks for linking my blog to yours!! p.s. most people didn’t know they were GF! that is awesome! 🙂

  2. Hello Megan! I absolutely LOVE your blog but had not seen the cupcakes until tonight. I fell in love with that idea and can’t wait to make some myself. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

