Yummy Cookies

Standard

So my family never has done anything special for the fourth of July.  My husband’s family, however, always gets together and this year we had a cookout and a pool party.  I wanted to make something new to bring to the cookout, so I tried out a recipe from another blog, Prevention RD, and a diabetic cookbook.

These might be the most delicious cookies I have *ever* made.  I knew I was in trouble when I was scooping them onto the cookie sheet – the batter smelled so good!  I left the party without any of these cookies left, needles to say – they were a hit!

Here is the recipe from Prevention RD , originally adapted from Cooking Light:

Caramel Apple Oatmeal Cookies

6.75 ounces all-purpose flour whole wheat pastry flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
6 tablespoons unsalted butter 50/50 Smart Balance Butter Blend, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 large egg 1/4 cup Egg Beaters
3/4 cup finely chopped dried fresh apple
3/4 cup caramel bits or 16 small soft caramel candies, chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° F

Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 4 ingredients (through salt) in a bowl; stir well.

Place sugars and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and egg; beat well. Gradually add flour mixture; beat at low speed until just combined. Fold in apple and caramel bits.

Drop dough by 2 teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Flatten balls slightly with hand. Bake at 350° for 9 minutes. Cool on pans 3 minutes. Remove cookies from pans; cool completely on wire racks. Yield: 3 dozen

Nutritional Information (per cookie): 94 calories; 2.5 g. fat; 63 mg. sodium; 17 g. carbohydrate; 0.9 g. fiber; 0.8 g. protein.

These cookies are SO GOOD!  I am glad we didn’t have any left – I’m not sure I could have controlled myself when we got home!  Bernie’s verdict: *DELICIOUS!*

My husband (Bernie) requested some chocolate chip cookies, so I tried out a new recipes from one of my diabetic cookbooks with a few changes:

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1/4 cup reduced fat margarine – I used the Smart Balance 50/50 blend
2 tablespoons granulated sugar substitute – I used real sugar
2 tablespoons brown sugar substitute – I used real brown sugar
1/4 cup egg substitute
3 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons semisweet chocolate mini morsels.

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, cream together the margarine and the sugar substitutes. Beat in the egg substitute, water and vanilla and mix thoroughly.

In a sifter, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Sift the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in the chocolate mini morsels.

Lightly spray cooke sheets with nonstick cooking spray. Drop teaspoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove the cookies from the oven and cool them on racks.

Makes 15 servings, serving = 2 cookies.

Nutrition facts per serving (following original recipe): 69 calories, 4g fat (1g saturated fat), 94 mg sodium, 8g carbohydrates, 3g sugars, 1g protein.

I have another recipe I normally used but wanted to try something new.  These cookies were kind of chewy and, I am not sure how to describe it but just, not as good as other recipes.  I will definitely not make these again and stick to my other recipe next time.  Bernie’s Verdict: “It’s hard to screw up chocolate but this comes pretty close.”  Better luck next time 🙂

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

